Posted by: johnnyp1978 | March 18, 2008

Cartoon Network Murdered Saturday Mornings

Maybe it’s just a Generation X thing, but I often think about the joy as a child I had on Saturday morning getting ready to watch cartoons. Hanna-Barbara treated us with so many great toons. I often visit youtube and type in 80’s cartoons to watch intros and commercials from my childhood. But not only do I miss Saturday morning cartoons, I also miss the great line-up of after-school cartoons. Disney brought us oodles of fine programming: Gummi Bears, Chip and Dale Rescue Rangers, and Duck Tales just to name a few. My ultimate favorite was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I feel almost like a geek daydreaming back to these times, but what kid from the 80’s, geek or cool, did not enjoy the days of cartoons. And as I contemplated exactly when they died I just couldn’t place my finger on it. It was almost as if one Saturday morning the cartoons had just ceased. It wasn’t a slow death but something freak and fast. Who murdered Saturday mornings and after-school programming? It then hit me… Cartoon Network is the culprit. It seemed that at the same time CN came into existence that the other networks began to decline in their cartoon programming. In fact, I remember my cable company not offering CN at first and wanting it so bad so that I could watch cartoons. At first CN seemed great, but little did I know that CN would end good cartoon programming as we know it. CN had a great line-up of original cartoons called Cartoon Cartoons with Dexter’s Laboratory and Cow and Chicken. Cow and Chicken was one of the best of the Cartoon Cartoons and was soon eliminated. Dexter’s had a pretty good ride but eventually disappeared. The worst of them all, Ed, Edd, ‘n’ Eddy survived them all for some odd reason though it is one of the worst cartoons on television. But Cartoon Cartoons just don’t compare to those toons of the 80’s. No wonder those from Generation X sleep in ’til 12pm Saturday mornings; there is no reason to get up. Our dreams hold that which used to be on the television. Cartoon Network, you killed one of the greatest experiences a child could have – Saturday morning cartoons… her blood is on your hands.

Responses

  1. Actually, ratings for Cartoon Network have always been terrible. The channel is rumored to be shut down after this year. On the other hand, Nick has always dominated Saturday mornings and every other day of the week. A Saturday marathon of Spongebob gets more ratings than a week of CN, WB, 4Kids combined. Nick is the real culprit. Spongebob and Fairly Odd have really destroyed cartoon as we know it.

  2. True. I guess I have a hard time attacking Nick ’cause back in the day they had some quality programming. But it is true, Nick is not the same Nick it was in the 80’s and 90’s.


Leave a Reply

Categories

