Posted by: johnnyp1978 | July 16, 2008

The Walking Bridge

null

I’m in one of those reminiscing moods (reminiscing is a weird looking word… looks misspelled even though it isn’t). So, the picture above is the Walnut Street Bridge (a.k.a. the Walking Bridge) in Chattanooga, TN. This bridge is the longest pedestrian bridge in the world. It holds a lot of memories for me. The first time, at least as I recall, I ever stepped foot on it was my freshman year at Covenant. I remember I was walking with some old and new friends and I was mimicking the way Shaggy walked in Scooby Doo. I can’t even give you a count of how many times I crossed that bridge in my time of living in Chattavegas. If you notice the sides in the picture you will see large snowflakes. They put these up during Christmas time and it is quite beautiful, but even without them it is simply a very gorgeous bridge. If you haven’t ever stepped foot on this bridge I highly suggest it, especially at night. I had on occasions walked on that bridge late at night when it was deserted and sat on one of the benches and just read or prayed in the peaceful silent nights of Chattanooga. I also enjoyed the rumbling sounds you could hear from the Market Street Bridge as cars crossed over it which is just a short ways away. I hope to once again cross this bridge sometime soon; I need a trip to Chattavegas.

Leave a Reply

Categories

