Posted by: johnnyp1978 | March 22, 2009

Sabbath Study

It’s been a while since my last entry. I really need to get back to writing blogs. Since I still hope to be in the ministry in some form I need to really begin struggling over issues that too many Christians tend to stay agnostic about. Some people just don’t want to decide what millennial view they adopt so they just take the pan-mill approach that it will all just pan out in the end… or pro-mill “I’m for the millennium.” Another issue I feel that we don’t wrestle with enough is how the church is to deal with the Lord’s Day in the New Testament era. So, this is something I’m going to dive into and hope to write some of the stuff I’m learning on here. The April issue of “New Horizons” (the magazine of the OPC) is focused upon the issue of the Sabbath. As soon as the OPC website is updated with this latest issue I will post the link. Until then here is a good read on the issue of Sabbath:  http://opc.org/GA/sabbath.html

Responses

  1. John Frame has a good study on the Sabbath – it’s part of his Social Ethics class at Covenant Seminary – you can download it on itunes.

    • cool. yeah, i had johnny frame at rts-orlando. but i didn’t take ethics with him but another guy who taught the ethics summer course. my old roommate from seminary took his ethics class and really liked it and told me about frame’s view of sabbath. i agree with some of his view but not totally. i really like what my professor and present elder, john muether, teaches on the sabbath. as soon as the opc posts the april issue of “new horizons” i’ll post the link.

  2. Oops, I mean Pastoral Ethics.


Leave a Reply

Categories

